The little moments of renovating

Essentially you can say we have been renovating for years, not all in one go of course, just getting tasks done and then saving up for the next project.

I  know the “joy” of cooking on a camp stove in our gutted kitchen, or traipsing through torrential rain with a 2 year old whilst heavily pregnant to have a shower in the shed.

I know the frustration of not being able to get the thick layer of dust off of the floor and from underneath your feet. The feeling of dust even being carried into bed, the smell, taste and grotty feeling that comes with it.

Or the feeling that there is a non stop parade of tradesmen and their noise coming through our house.

This lot of renovations has been going on for 7 months.

It really has been a journey of blood, sweat and tears – literally.

I happened to be flicking through photos on my mobile phone today, and came across many documenting the “little moments of renovating”

I thought I would share them with you.

We still have a bit to do, odds and ends here, but the place is looking great, our dreams are coming true, our hard work is paying off.

A conversation in which someone mentions an upcoming renovation is giving me an involuntary shudder, that may still continue for a while, but I am very proud of all we have done, together, as a family.

This photo is from our house, looking out into our original carport, which we had enclosed in and made into a playroom for the kids.

For approximately 2 months, the only way into the back yard was to climb through this window. It was fun for a whole 2 days or so, the novelty soon wore off, and we all were sporting bruises on our knees.

I helped knock that wall down, and hold the ceiling panels up while my husband screwed them in (oh the aches of the arms!). I also helped lay the floor boards we finally put down. I am pretty impressed with myself, especially since I have never considered myself the least bit “handy”

It took approximately 5 months to get it to this stage of being plastered, it looked like a bomb site for a long time, I felt it was never going to get finished, but it is almost there now, at last!

Still a bit to do to the room, but I am so impressed with it, and find its an area to chill out for all of us, not just the kids.

Everyone helped, from painting, to drilling, we all got together as a team and got the little and big jobs done.

Biggest mention goes to my wonderful husband who works very long hours, and has spent pretty much most of his days off working on the renovations, he has been worn out and exhausted, but still pressed on.

The start of closing in what would one day become our bathroom, much longer process then imagined.

tiling commenced, 6 months later…. Rome wasn’t built in a day!

Dirt, digging and torrential rain make for a huge mess!

I was sooo excited when Jamie put these cupboards together.

They still need to be moved into their permanent place, but it means that our lack of storage space is looking like a thing of the past!

A photo of the taps filling the bath tub up for the first of many times.

7 months after the renovations commenced the kids could finally have a bath without using numerous buckets to fill it.

I have enjoyed relaxing in there myself, and we joke our kids are the cleanest kids in town, they are pretty impressed with having a bathtub!

I always imagined a post about our renovations would be best filled with photos that look like they are from a home magazine, some beautiful, gleaming result, the thing is that only now, when we are finally nearing the finish line, the photos that are most important to me are the little moments, filled with the milestones and memories, of the joys and tears.

For months I organised catch ups with friends at their house or a park, feeling ashamed of how much mess and destruction lay around our house.

I would joke that they did not want to come visit me in our ” demolition zone”, now I wish that I had every person I know come over countless  times in the last 7 months, maybe then I could really let those who are close to us see how far we have come.

The truth is, while I am so pleased with what we have, I really am most proud of how far we have come.

Never did I ever imagine that in the midst of dust, dirt and destruction, I would really experience some very special moments with my little family, and while I am so glad that the major stages of our renovations are over, I am very grateful that we all pulled together as a team when we needed to the most.

These photos make me really see how far we have come.

Leave a Reply

