Putting the pieces back together

It has been a tough few months, but the light is starting to shine again.

Some days I feel like I am taking 3 steps forward, and 2 steps back.

I remind myself that no matter how slow it seems I AM moving forward.

Words always sit with me, they often comfort me in times of need,  I know some people find quotes cheesy.

I love them, even had an exercise book filled with them from my teen years, when internet and pinterest had not yet taken off.

These quotes have continued to comfort me, and below are some that I have used as reminders in recent times.

I was so scared when I fell apart, afraid of how it reflected me as a person, and worried that being diagnosed with depression would be my label.

I am not going to be known as “the lady with depression”, I am going to be known as “the lady who had hard times, but worked through them”.

Already I can see that perhaps falling apart was a blessing in disguise.

A reminder that I am human,

In need of taking a break,

Being a little more gentle on myself.

This quote from Emerson is one of my all time favorites.

It is so very true that no matter what we have been through, or what we are about to go through in life, inside each of us is enough strength to get through our darkest days, to rise above any obstacle, and to sparkle even in what feels like the most dullest of times.

And finally, the last quote, so simple, yet so strong with its message.

Life deals us blows, things happen that we don’t plan.

Sometimes we feel like we are given challenge after challenge.

At the end of the day, the only person who can really save us is ourselves.

As I said before, I still have a long way to go, but then again, who doesn’t?

I will continue to grow, to focus on they areas in life I need to work on, and as I do this, I continue to be thankful for all the words, beautiful, truthful, caring and honest that act as one of the many wonderful things that get me through my journey.

Do words comfort you in your time of need?

What is your favorite quote of the moment?

5 thoughts on “Putting the pieces back together

  1. Love this post Alicia! Life is about evolving – learning/growing/expanding! I believe something good always comes from something bad (the challenges we face). As hard as the bad times are, we can choose to learn from them and come out stronger. My family calls it sweet madness 🙂 xx

  2. Ditto to Elisa!!

    my favourite quote /sayings right now are “breathe” (yes i have to keep telling myself this) and “slow down” (there is plenty of time to get things done, i need to stop pushing myself or feeling bad, take time, enjoy life and trust it will all work out the way it is supposed to)

Leave a Reply

