Kindness

This weeks Challenge for Home Life Simplified is regarding Gratitude and Kindness.

Since I have already set up a way to acknowledge the moments in my life that I am grateful for, I thought I would concentrate on kindness.

When you think of it, kindness is so easy, it is free to do, but the thing that stops most of us practising kindness is probably the fact that we are in such a hurry every day.

While it would be so easy to hold a door open for someone, ask an upset person if they are ok, let another car in front whilst in the traffic, or simply just lend and ear to someone in need, many people are in too much of a hurry rushing through life to stop to think of doing some simple act of kindness.

I am just as guilty at times.

This week I set out to work on my kindness.

I thought it would be something grand and extravagant I could do, I was thinking of making some homemade gifts for friends………… that did not happen.

Then at the beginning of the week the kids wanted the window wound down in the car, they were yelling out “Hello!” to people as they walked by our car.

I suggested that they try saying something nice to each person, that did not take long to catch on, some of the things I heard being yelled out the back of my car were:

“You are beautiful!”

“Have a nice day!”

“I like what you are wearing!”

Some people looked on confused, others smiled and waved, but looking at the happy smiling faces in the back of my car, I knew that the kids had got a lot from doing this anyhow.

I have also made a conscious effort of late to acknowledge good service. I have often taken a few moments just to email head office’s of companies to commend them on the great service I have received from individual staff members.

If someone has given me good service, I take note of their name, and send off and email.

This week I sent another letter off after I got some great service last week at McDonald’s when I took my son there for morning tea for his birthday.

I did not have the best grip on my tray when I picked it up, and I knocked my coffee over, it was my fault, but the lady at the counter insisted on giving me a whole new one, even though only a little spilled out. She then went on to inspect our hot cakes to make sure they were not damaged, and gave us a whole new tray.

I thanked her for her kindness, and then went on to send an email to the head office, I hope she gets praised by her boss for her great service too, she deserves it.

This week I also worked at taking longer to ask others about themselves, the mothers waiting outside the classroom with me, the customers that came into work, the people I interacted with anywhere.

I found myself laughing more, having a joke with strangers, and making moments that may otherwise seem long so fast.

Kindness really is simple, yet the effects are great, they help the receiver and the recipient.

I will endeavour to carry out more acts of kindness in the future.

10 thoughts on “Kindness

  1. What a great idea! I mean, its probably common courtesy to be kind to people, but you have really (gone out of your way) made a difference! Yes it does not take long to be kind but the effects on yourself or the person you were kind to, could be long lasting…. THANK YOU for inspiring me to go and be kind – not that i am unkind, but to endevour to be kinder!!!! 🙂

  2. What a great Idea, I love the idea of saying something nice to people. Thanks for the inspiration especially about writing notes appreciating good service. We all to quick to point out bad service but take good service for granted. thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Oh my word, how gorgeous are your kids! I bet they absolutely just made some people’s day by what they were shouting from that car window! Xx

  4. I love this post Alicia. You’re right, we all get so busy and just end up rushing past people when we could stop and at least just smile 🙂 I hope you have a lovely day today

  5. Love this Alicia – especially the kids calling out nice things from the window and the fact that you emailed about people’s great service – I am sure they would be impressed at HQ as it is not often people take the time to do it so it means extra when a customer does!

  6. It would definitely make my day if I heard kids yelling nice things out their car window, way to be an awesome mom with awesome kids!!!!

Leave a Reply

