Learning to live with a Teenager

For just over a week we have had a Teenager living in our house.

It’s a permanent arrangement, my 15-year-old niece has just moved in with us.

I don’t know much about teenagers, I know I was one once, but even then  I did not know what it was like to be a “normal teenager”.

So what have I learnt in my first week of being a guardian of a teenager?

Well a fair bit it seems, some I already think I knew deep down, but some that has been reinforced:

  • When I hang my nieces clothes out, it seems that my underwear has more material on it then a pair of her shorts. Is it just me, or has the fashion of teens just got skimpier and skimpier?
  • Teenagers know how to make you feel old in a roundabout way, Jazz told me that I was looking pretty good for someone as old as me. OLD?! I am 31! “Yeah, I know” she said, “but most old ladies like you are all wrinkly and craggy skin by now” WTF?! was that a compliment or an insult?!
  • Teenage girls giggle ALOT! They giggle at things that are not even funny, and they giggle in a high-pitched tone. I have stopped to ponder if I was ever a gigglier, perhaps I was, now I am feeling too old to remember.
  • They are embarrassed and have anxiety attacks about doing something as hard as applying for a job, but posting a self portrait with some corny poem on Facebook , that 437 “friends” can see does not even need a second thought.
  • I looked on as Jazmine slept in until 10am this morning and wondered “Why can I not get as much sleep as her?’ and also wondered why my 2 children cannot sleep that long, though give me time, they will be a sleeping teenager before I know it too!

Well I think that is enough lessons for only a week, stay tuned, I am sure I will learn more over time!

(wish me luck! It’s interesting going into uncharted territory)

4 thoughts on “Learning to live with a Teenager

  1. Something I have learnt about teenagers becoming a stepparent is that they need up to 14 hours sleep (more than a baby does!). So you will probably see your neice sleeping more than she is awake 🙂

  2. Oh so very true! Like you I’m only 31 and my daughter is 13!! She makes me feel old and if she is anything like i was, the fun and hard work is yet to come!! :0)

    Really enjoyed your post

Leave a Reply

