Dancing through life.

This year, at the age of 30, I took up dancing for the first time since I was a child.

I watched my daughter and niece perform on stage at their dance concert, and was filled with pride, and gratitude to be able to witness their achievements. It takes a lot of courage, determination, and practise to get up on stage in front of many people to perform.

After the concert I got thinking, I would really love to dance as well, I remembered how much fun I had performing as a child, even if I was never a great dancer, I wasnt even able to work past one level of dancing as a child, but I did enjoy it.

I thought of all the reasons why I couldn’t start dance classes, I didn’t have enough time/money/courage/patience. I realised they were  just all excuses. In the 5 years since I had become a Mother, I had not done one regular activity just for myself, I had made myself a bit of a “Mummy Martyr”, and it was about time I changed that.

So, before I could think it over much more, I signed up to dance classes. I was petrified. I was scared of making a fool of myself. I found it hard, but fun at the same time. I was uncomfortable, and  worried a few times throughout the term that the dance teacher was going to expel me, due to lack of skills!

When the term ended and it was time to perform. I thought I was going to have a heart attack before going on stage,  my mind went blank and I couldn’t remember my dance moves (or so I thought!). Many nights previously had been spent laying  awake thinking silently “what the hell have I got myself into?!”

I vowed to just make it through that term, attempt to perform without making too much of a fool of myself, and then move on, happy at having “given it a go”.

But something happened……….

I performed, and I loved it! I felt myself shaking with nerves throughout the performance, but I got through it ok, and felt proud and relieved when it was all over.

So I signed up again for another term, this time we learnt a disco themed dance. It was a bit more upbeat, as I practised each week in the dance studio, I would catch sight of my reflection in the mirror, and see I had the biggest smile on my face.

Performance day arrived quicker then expected, the late nights awake with worry thankfully didn’t return, I knew I could get up in front of strangers and perform, and I would be ok.

Finally it was time to go on stage, the music started and the fun began, I felt myself smiling, having a blast. Then all of a sudden I missed one of the dance moves, I was heading in the opposite direction then the other 15 dancers I was sharing the stage with.

At that split second I had a choice to make, either freeze there on stage in front of the hundreds of people watching, or just keep dancing.

I choose the second option, I threw a few groovy disco moves in, and slid myself across the stage to get back in sync with the others. In my mind’s eye it was the most obvious thing for everyone to see, but when I commented on it later to friends and family who had been watching in the audience, everyone said “I didn’t even notice you  make a mistake”.

The story doesn’t end here. It is now a few weeks after our performance, I have thought a bit of that day, and have decided that “moment” on stage is a good analogy of life.

Sometimes things don’t go to plan, lets face it, nothing at all is perfect, so we are all going to encounter mistakes, mishaps and wrong turns along the way.

The important thing I have decided is that it is not so much what happens to you in your life, it is how you react to it, what you learn from the mistakes, and how you grow as a person from them.

I have decided that I need to treat life like a disco dance routine more often.

If things don’t go to plan, I am going to aim to throw a few funky moves in, let the sparkles shine, and move on, it is sure going to make the journey move fun!

 

3 thoughts on “Dancing through life.

Leave a Reply

